Past winners: Naumann-Thienemann Medal

HomeFundingNaumann-Thienemann Medal → Past winners: Naumann-Thienemann Medal


Past Winners - Naumann-Thienemann Medal

2024BrazilJohn MelackUSAComparative studies of tropical African lakes and high-elevations lakes in the Sierra Nevada, linking ecological and hydrological processes on Amazon floodplains, long-term measurements and analyses of saline Mono Lake and in coastal California catchments, to applications of innovative remote sensing to inland waters. 
  Vera HuszarBrazilResearch area has been in planktonic aquatic ecology, mainly in plankton interactions, macroecology, functional diversity, C balance, recovery and mitigation of cyanobacteria blooms, covering coastal lagoons, floodplain lakes, estuaries, reservoirs, fisheries, and rivers in tropical and subtropical areas.
2022GermanySally MacIntyreUSAFor her contributions to the field of physical limnology, studying turbulence links to biology and biogeochemistry of lakes around the world.
  Jose TundisiBrazilFor his work on the integrated management of watershed, reservoirs, and lakes. His research is focused on tropical and subtropical inland waters of South and Central America.
2020South Korea Tamar ZoharyIsraëlFor her global leadership in the area of phytoplankton taxonomy and ecology, and high-level leadership for research conducted on Lake Kinneret. For her long-serving and very active participation in SIL as the General Secretary and Treasurer, and for being a role model for young women interested in pursuing a scientific career.
  Nelson Hairston United StatesFor blending theory with an analysis of field patterns and manipulative experiments, he has provided valuable insight into interactions between ecology and evolution, and the causes and consequences of life-history variation in freshwater zooplankton. For his fostering of scholarly excellence in his students and colleagues alike, and for contributing to his local and international academic communities.
2018China John P SmolCanadaFor his research developing the field of paleolimnology and its applications
   Lars TranvikSwedenFor his research on the role of carbon transformation on the functioning of lakes and his leadership in limnology
2016ItalyUrsula GaedkeGermanyFor her research on plankton structure dynamics and her leadership in limnology
  John R. JonesUSAFor his research on reservoir limnology and his outstanding contributions to SIL
  Michael L. PaceUSAFor his contributions to foodweb dynamics and carbon cycling and for his leadership in limnology
2013HungaryJohn DowningUSAFor his research in the limnology of agricultural landscapes and leadership in limnology
  Jacob KalffCanadaFor his independent, thoughtful and influential investigations in limnology
  P. Sam LakeAustraliaFor original research in stream ecology and leadership in the conservation of freshwater ecosystems
2010South AfricaBrian AllansonSouth AfricaFor his leadership of the development of limnology in South Africa
  Erik Jeppesen and the Section of Lake Ecology at NERIDenmarkFor their substantial contributions to shallow lake ecology
  Judith MeyerUSAFor her fundamental contributions to the functioning of microbial communities in flowing waters and advocacy of the importance of freshwaters in public policy
2007CanadaCarolyn BurnsNew ZealandFor her outstanding studies on physiology and population dynamics of southern hemisphere zooplankton and food-web interactions, as well as her indefatigable and successful endeavor to New Zealand lakes, and for her service to SIL
  Stephen CarpenterUSAFor research that has built bridges between ecological theory, ecosystem experiments, and management of complex limnological problems; his work has elucidated the importance of the trophic cascade and regime shifts in the management of lakes
  Brian MossUnited KingdomFor creating through his research and scientific leadership a fundamentally new understanding of shallow-lake ecosystems
2004FinlandPeter CullenAustraliaFor his exemplary scientific leadership and extraordinary efforts to communicate complex limnological and water resource issues to colleagues and especially to decision-makers, which over the past three decades have led to improved understanding about, and wiser allocation of, critical water resources in Australia
  Brij GopalIndiaFor his major contributions to the biology and management of aquatic and wetland ecosystems, and for his perseverance in encouraging understanding and improvement of limnology of developing countries
  Johannes RingelbergThe NetherlandsFor his successful application of physiological first principles to the study of zooplankton ecology and the explanation of ecosystem processes, and for his continuing efforts to promote fundamental research in limnology
2001AustraliaChristian LévêqueFrance 
  Thomas NorthcoteCanada 
  Colin ReynoldsUnited Kingdom 
1998IrelandZ. Maciej GliwiczPoland 
  Noel HynesCanada 
  William Lewis, Jr.USA 
1995BrazilWinfried LampertGermany 
  Gene LikensUSA 
  Rosemary Lowe-McConnellUnited Kingdom 
1992SpainA. D. HaslerUSA 
  Vladimír SládecekCzech Republic 
  Robert WetzelUSA 
1989GermanyRamon MargalefSpain 
  David SchindlerCanada 
  Jack TallingUnited Kingdom 
1987New ZealandR. M. Jónasson  
  Dietrich UhlmannGermany 
  Richard VollenweiderCanada 
1983FranceJaroslav HrbácekCzech Republic 
  Eugen A. ThomasSwitzerland 
  Livia Tonolli-PirocchiItaly 
1980JapanW. Thomas EdmondsonUSA 
  Hans-Joachim ElsterGermany 
  David G. FreyUSA 
1977DenmarkNielson E. SteemannDenmark 
  E. Schweizerbart’sche VerlagsbuchhandlungGermany 
  Geogiy Georgievich WinbergRussia 
1974CanadaWilliam RodheSweden 
1971USSRS. I. KuznetsovRussia 
  Waldemar OhleGermany 
1968IsraelVittorio TonolliItaly 
1965PolandKaj BergDenmark 
  Clifford H. MortimerUnited Kingdom 
  Vladimir I. ShadinRussia 
1962USAHeikki JärnefeltFinland 
  Siniša StankovicSerbia 
1959AustriaGunnar AlmSweden 
  Friedrich HustedtGermany 
  George E. HutchinsonUSA 
1953EnglandIngo FindeneggAustria 
  Friedrich  LenzGermany 
1950BelgiumEdward A. BirgeUSA 
  Chancey JudayUSA 
1948SwitzerlandAmerican Society of Limnology and OceanographyUSA 
  Freshwater Biological AssociationUnited Kingdom 
  Robert LauterbornGermany 
1939SwedenGottfried Huber-PestalozziSwitzerland 
1937FranceHeinrich C. RedekeNetherlands 
1934YugoslaviaCarl J. Wesenberg-LundDenmark 
1932The NetherlandsAugust ThienemannGermany 
1930HungaryFranz RuttnerAustria