SIL Mentors

SIL Mentors

Mentors are willing to offer advice to students and junior scientists seeking to publish their research findings, in some of the following ways:

  • Screening of data for its suitability for publication
  • Advice on a target journal
  • Help in preparing a paper together in a constructive and professional atmosphere
  • Provide follow-up after the review process
  • Advice on career planning

Andrew J. Boulton

Department of Ecosystem Management University of New England Armidale, NSW. 2351 Australia

Surface-groundwater interactions in streams, hyporheic ecology, leaf litter breakdown, effects of drought on stream ecosystems, macroinvertebrate ecology, dryland river management, and general ecology of temporary and ephemeral streams. I am editor of the journal Marine and Freshwater Research which includes an early career referee mentoring scheme where I provide guidance and comments on reviews by early career referees. MFR website >>>

aboulton@une.edu.au

Henri Décamps

CNRS ­ Ecolab 29 rue Jeanne Marvig F-31055 Toulouse Cedex 04 France

Extreme climatic change

hdecamps@cict.fr

Henk de Haan

Orion 11 8531 NC Lemmer The Netherlands

Eutrophication, water quality planning, (physico) chemical speciation of (micro) nutrients and their bioavalability in humic lakes, shallow lakes

h.dehaan01@hetnet.nl

Martin Dokulil

Institute for Limnology Austrian Academy of Sciences A-5310 Mondsee Mondseestrasse 9, Austria

Algal ecology particularly phytoplankton ecology, eutrophication, climate change, water quality issues, shallow lake ecology, river ecology

martin.dokulil@oeaw.ac.at

Martyn Futter

Macaulay Institute Craigiebuckler, Aberdeen AB15 8QH United Kingdom

Nutrients, diffuse pollution

m.futter@macaulay.ac.uk

Ramesh Gulati

NIOO/Centre of Limnology Rijksstraatweg 6 3631 AC Nieuwersluis The Netherlands

Zooplankton feeding in relation to food quality, food web manipulation, lake biomanipulation, lake restoration, ecosystem studies, planktonic stoichiometry.

R.Gulati@nioo.knaw.nl

Karl Havens

University of Florida 803 McCarty Drive PO Box 110400 Gainesville, FL 32611-0400 Telephone: 352-392-5870 Fax: 352-392-5113

Plankton ecology, aquatic food webs, and limnology.

khavens@ufl.edu

Thomas Horvath

SUNY College at Oneonta Department of Biology Oneonta, NY 13820-3646 USA

Water quality issues, benthic communities, invasive species.

HORVATTG@oneonta.edu

Haseeb Irfanullah

Programme Coordinator, IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature), Bangladesh Country Office, H 16, R 2/3, Banani, Dhaka 1213, Bangladesh

Shallow lake ecology; phytoplankton ecology; aquatic macrophyte ecology; allelopathy in aquatic ecosystems; algal taxonomy; community based natural resource management; philosophy of science.

hmirfanullah@yahoo.co.uk; haseebmd.irfanullah@iucn.org

Bruce A. Manny

US Geological Survey Great Lakes Science Center 1451 Green Road Ann Arbor, MI 48105

Rehabilitation of lake sturgeon populations in the Great Lakes. Rehabilitation of fish spawning habitat in large, degraded rivers (especially channels connecting the Great Lakes).

bmanny@usgs.gov

Robert A. Patzner

Organismische Biologie Universität Salzburg Hellbrunnerstrasse 34 A-5020 Salzburg, Österreich

European freshwater snails, mussels and grayfish (ecology, distribution).

robert.patzner@sbg.ac.at

Peter C. Schulze

zooplankton ecology

pschulze@austincollege.edu

Astrid Schwarz

Technische Universitaet Darmstadt Institut für Philosophie Schloss 64283 Darmstadt Germany

Philosophy of biology & environmental science, visualization in ecology and environmental science.

astrid.schwarz@solvitweb.ch