Naumann-Thienemann medal

The Naumann-Thienemann medal is the highest honor that can be bestowed internationally for outstanding scientific contributions to limnology. The engraved bronze medal bears the reliefs of the two founders of SIL and the meritorious inscription in Latin "De limnologia optime merito". One medal shall be awarded per year, and therefore we would like to receive nominations of two outstanding limnologists (for the years 2021 and 2022), to be awarded at the centennial SIL congress in Berlin, Germany, in August 2022. The medal originated as the Einar Naumann Medal and was first awarded in 1948. The important contributions of August Thienemann to the development and leadership of SIL were fully appreciated later when the early records of the SIL were examined carefully. In 1972, at an international workshop to honor the 50th anniversary of the SIL, a decision was made to alter the medal to recognize the different, but fundamental and reinforcing, contributions of both scientists to international limnology.

Outstanding scientific contributions to limnology will be considered in the broadest sense. Where similarly qualified candidates are nominated, an advantage will be given to SIL members, and to women and scientists from developing countries (who in the past received only a negligible fraction of the awards). For nominations, please provide the following information:

- Full name of the nominee.
- Affiliation and current e-mail address.
- A personal justifying statement why the nominee should be awarded the Naumann-Thienemann-Medal, reflecting her/his contribution to the science of limnology (about one page). This statement shall reflect the qualitative contributions and insight gained from the work of the nominee, instead of listing quantitative metrics.
- A full CV, specifying, in addition to education and positions held, other activities, by which the nominee has contributed to limnological research and education, for example service as editor of journals, leading positions in organizations of the limnological community, teaching and mentorship, and outstanding outreach activities.
- A publication list and a section highlighting up to five most influential papers or books that reflect the scientific contributions of the nominee with a short statement for each why these contributions provide an exceptional progress in limnology.

SIL has formed an international committee, which will select the recipients among your nominations. The committee members are:

Prof. Ursula Gaedke (Germany), Prof. Lars Tranvik (Sweden), Prof. John Smol (Canada), Prof. John Downing (U.S.A.), Prof. Mike Pace (U.S.A.), Dr. Tamar Zohary (General Secretary of SIL), Dr. Thomas Mehner (President of SIL)

Please send the nomination package as a single PDF to the President of SIL, Thomas Mehner, at <u>mehner@igb-berlin.de</u>, not later than on 30th November 2021.