Wetzel SIL Congress Travel Award

Wetzel SIL Congress Travel Award

Robert G. Wetzel Memorial Travel Award


The Robert G. Wetzel Memorial Fund was created in 2005 through a request from Robert G. Wetzel. Following one of Robert Wetzel’s highest priorities, this fund will be used each congress to pay SIL-related expenses of young limnologists throughout the world that might otherwise be unable to participate in SIL activities. The Wetzel Memorial Fund is used for travel support of those who are presenting a paper at the current congress meeting. The first time this award was given was for the 2013 SIL Congress in Budapest.

Biographical profile of Robert G. Wetzel (1936-2005) >>>

Tonolli and Wetzel Awards Committee >>>


Information and application forms can be downloaded here >>>

Eligible applicants are SIL members that have not received the award in the past.

Deadline for applications for travel awards for the 2018 SIL Congress in Nanjing is 15 March 2018.


Robert G. Wetzel Memorial Award Recipients

Year Recipient Country
2016 Arranz Urgell Spain
Atia Saber Egypt
Ewa Babkiewicz Poland
Mireia Bartrons Spain
Bastidas Navarro Argentina
Tatiana Chuzhekova Russia
Veronika Dashkova Kazakhstan
Zeynep Ersoy Turkey
Marina Gerea Argentina
Eyerusalem Goitom Ethiopia
Theodore “Ted” Harris USA
Işkın Uğur Turkey
Jasmina Kamberović Bosnia
Lourenco Amorim Pereira Brazil
Jing Lu China
Piotr Maszczyk Poland
Amanda Neilen Australia
Georg Niedrist Italy
Krisztián Nyeste Hungary
Okechukwu Okogwu Nigeria
Jeremy Piggott New Zealand
Anna Rigosi Italy
Renee Rossini Australia
Carolina Soto Cárdenas Argentina
Duygu Tolunay Turkey
Man Xiao China
2013 András Abonyi Hungary
Maciej Bartosiewicz Poland
Lucy Crockford Ireland
Aurea Luiza Lemes da Silva Brazil
Milena Pavlova Bulgaria
Caitlin Riddick USA
Xiaoqing Tiam China